Suche

Awardee 2020

Amartya Sen

The Board of Trustees has chosen the Indian economist and philosopher Amartya Sen as the Peace Prize Winner of the Year 2020. The award ceremony will take place on Sunday, October 18, 2020, in Frankfurt's Paulskirche and will be broadcast live on television.

Statement of the Jury

The German Publishers and Booksellers Association hereby awards the 2020 Peace Prize of the German Book Trade to the economist and philosopher Amartya Sen. In doing so, the association and its members have chosen to pay tribute to a pioneering scholar who has addressed issues of global justice for decades and whose work to combat social inequality in education and healthcare is as relevant today as ever. Among Sen’s most important contributions is the idea of evaluating a society’s wealth not solely based on economic growth indices, but also on the opportunities for development available to all individuals who comprise that society, in particular its weakest members.

Throughout his work, Amartya Sen has consistently highlighted solidarity and a willingness to negotiate as essential democratic values, proving in the process that cultures need not be the source of disputes over identity. His vivid and powerful descriptions have also served to elucidate the fundamental ways in which poverty, hunger and illness are intimately linked to the absence of free and democratic structures. The »Human Development Index«, the »capabilities approach« and the notion of »missing women« are just three of his groundbreaking concepts that continue to set high standards to this day with regard to generating, preserving and evaluating equal opportunities and decent living conditions for all.

Amartya Sen’s inspiring oeuvre represents a compelling call to establish a culture of political decision-making borne by a sense of responsibility for the well-being of others, including the right to self-determination and the right to articulate one’s interests and have a say in one’s own future.

 

The freedom of choice gives us the opportunity to decide what we should do. (Amartya Sen,"The Idea of Justice")

Biography

Amartya Kumar Sen was born on 3 November 1933 in Santiniketan, India. He is currently the Thomas W. Lamont University Professor, and professor of economics and philosophy at Harvard University. For many decades, Sen’s multifaceted and award-winning scholarly work has contributed unmatched insights and impulses to a number of fields, including welfare economics, social choice theory, decision theory, studies in hunger and poverty, and development economics. As an economist-philosopher whose research areas include public health and gender studies, he has also worked tirelessly for the cause of democracy, freedom and global justice. In 1998, he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Economics. In 2020, Amartya Sen, one of the most important thinkers of our time, will receive the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade.


Amartya Sen was born into a family of scholars and raised in an environment steeped in tradition. He spent part of his childhood in Dhaka, the present-day capital of Bangladesh, and finished his school education in his hometown of Santiniketan. His early years were influenced by the political movement for independence that took place across India during the 1940s, which was also the time of the conflicts between Hindus and Muslims, as well as that of the great famine in Bengal in 1943.

In 1959, after having completed a B.A. in economics at Presidency College, Kolkata, Sen received his Ph.D. at Trinity College, Cambridge. He continued to devote himself to the study of philosophy in addition to economics, something that is clearly reflected in many of his later works, where issues of economic theory meet moral philosophy and ethics.

In the 1960s, Sen was a guest professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology as well as at Stanford, Berkeley and Harvard. After that, he worked as a professor of economics at the University of Delhi’s Delhi School of Economics (1963–1971), the London School of Economics (1971–1977) and Oxford University (1977–1987) as Drummond Professor of Political Economy. From 1988 to 1998, he was the Thomas W. Lamont University Professor, and Professor of economics and philosophy at Harvard, after which he was appointed as Master of Trinity College, Cambridge. In 2004, he returned to Harvard as the Thomas W. Lamont University Professor and Professor of Economics and Philosophy.

*

As an economist-philosopher, Amartya Sen’s thinking is shaped by the question of how social justice can be advanced for all individuals in a society. In exploring these issues, he  uses economics, politics and social choice theory.

Sen first became known to a wider public in 1970 for his advancement of the theory of social choice and his analysis of the compatibility of reasoned social decisions and individual rights (»Collective Choice and Social Welfare«, 1970, Expanded Edition, 2017). In 1981, he published his most famous work, »Poverty and Famines – An Essay on Entitlement and Deprivation«.  This essay showed definitively that poverty and hunger are caused not only by food shortages, but above all by problems of distribution and a lack of access and entitlements. In addition, Sen showed that famines do not break out in functioning democracies with a free press.

In the 1990s, Sen played a significant role in the development of the Human Development approach of the United Nations, including devising the Human Development Index (HDI) which is an indicator of well-being in countries around the world and takes into account factors such as health and education in addition to average income.

Sen has always worked with his conviction that the quality of an economic system should not be measured solely on the basis of its growth indices, but rather on the opportunities available to the members of society to pursue their own development as well as their freedom to lead a life they have reason to choose (»capability approach«). Among the elements necessary for achieving this, Sen shows are education, healthcare and a free and fair press, in particular. In his 1999 book »Development as Freedom«, he has called for fair sharing of rights and opportunities by women. They also contribute to  eliminating global inequalities and improving overall living standards.

Years earlier, in 1990, Sen had already used the idea of “missing women” in an article titled »More Than 100 Million Women Are Missing« published in the New York Review of Books. The term refers to noticeable shortfalls in the number of women in some regions of the world in relation to what may be expected on demographic grounds. This results from neglect of young girls as well as gender-selective abortion of female foetuses, related to »boy preference«, resulting from patriarchal values. 

In 2006, the philosopher Sen became involved in the “clash of cultures” debate through his book »Identity and Violence«. In it, he warned of the increasing tendency to reduce individuals to a single identifying characteristic. He described how violence and fundamentalism arise as a result of such narrow construction of identity, and how this tendency fosters conflicts, as well. As an alternative to this approach, Sen made a decisive plea for the active promotion of pluralist understanding.

In 2009, Sen published »The Idea of Justice«, which soon became a bestseller. In that book, Sen examines the theory of justice put forth by John Rawls, criticising it for its ideal-oriented assumptions, which make it unsuitable for application in practical reality. In contrast, Sen proposed a practice-oriented theory and declared democracy to be a basic requirement for social justice.

In 2013, Sen joined with fellow economist Jean Drèze for the book »An Uncertain Glory. India and its Contradictions«, in which they proposed solutions designed to foster a fairer coexistence of peoples in India. Both economists placed the focus of their analysis on the lives and needs of poor and underprivileged populations, portraying the ways in which the introduction of a democratic system influenced Indian’s economy and social fabric, but also showing how the accompanying neglect of social problems has had a serious impact on the country’s economic and political system to this day.

*

Amartya Sen has been the President of the Econometric Society, President of the International Economic Association, President of the Indian Economic Association and President of the American Economic Association. For two years, he was Honorary President of OXFAM and he continues to be active there as an honorary advisor. Sen is a Senior Fellow at the Harvard Society of Fellows, a Fellow of the British Academy, an Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a Member of the American Philosophical Society.

Sen has received over 100 honorary doctorates and countless awards for his highly influential work, and his books have been translated into over 30 different languages. He lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts, with his wife, the British-born economic historian Emma Georgina Rothschild, whom he married in 1991 and who is also a professor at Harvard. Amartya Sen has four children, Antara, Nandana, Indrani and Kabir.

The terrible connection between economic poverty and comprehensive unfreedom (even the lack of freedom to live) was a profoundly shocking realization that hit my young mind with overpowering force. (Amartya Sen in "Identity and Violence" about his childhood experience during the clashes between Hindus and Muslims in 1944)

Awards

2020 Peace Prize of the German Book Trade
2019 Bodley Medal, Oxford, UK
2017 Albert O. Hirschman Prize, Institute for Advanced Study
2017 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science, Oslo, Norway
2016 Social Progress Medal, France
2015 Honorary Member of the Japan Academy
2015 John Maynard Keynes Prize, U.K.


2014 Domingo Faustino Sarmiento Award, Argentina
2013 Commandeur de la Legion d'Honneur, France
2012 Order of the Aztec Eagle, Mexico
2011 National Humanities Medal, U.S.A.
2009 Honorary Member of the Royal Irish Academy
2007 Meister Eckhart Prize, Germany
2007 United Nations Lifetime Achievement Award, ESCAP
2007 Global Economy Prize, Kiel, Germany
2005 Barnard College Medal of Distinction, U.S.A.
2005 Silver Banner, Florence, Italy
2004 Lifetime Achievement Award by the Indian Chamber of Commerce
2001 Bruno Kreisky Prize for Political Book of the Year
2000 Brazilian Ordemdo Merito Cientifico, Grã-Cruz
2000 Leontief Prize, U.S.A.
2000 Eisenhower Medal, U.S.A. 
2000 Honorary Companion of Honour, U.K.
1999 Honorary Citizenship of Bangladesh
1999 Bharat Ratna, India
1998 Alfred Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences
1997 Edinburgh Medal, U.K.
1997 Catalonia International Prize
1993 Jean Mayer Global Citizenship Award
1990 Giovanni Agnelli International Prize in Ethics, Italy
1990 Alan Shawn Feinstein World Hunger Award
1981 Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Nothing, arguably, is as important today in the political economy of development as adequate recognition of political, economic appreciation of political, economic and social participation and leadership of women. (Amartya Sen in "Development as Freedom.")

Bibliography

Gleichheit? Welche Gleichheit?

[orig. »Equality of What?« (1979)], Übersetzt und herausgegeben von Ute Kruse-Ebeling, Deutsche Erstausgabe, Reclam Verlag, Stuttgart 2019, Kartoniert, 72 Seiten, ISBN 9783150196144, 6,00 €

Indien. Ein Land und seine Widersprüche

[orig. »An Uncertain Glory. India and its Contradictions« (2013)], von Amartya Sen und Jean Dreze, übersetzt von Thomas Atzert und Andreas Wirthensohn, C.H. Beck Verlag, München 2014, Gebunden, 376 Seiten, ISBN 9783406670299, 29,95 €

Die Idee der Gerechtigkeit

[orig. »The Idea of Justice« (2009)], Übersetzt von Christa Krüger, C.H. Beck Verlag, München 2010, Gebunden, 493 Seiten, ISBN 9783406606533, 29,95 € (dtv, München 2017, 14,90 €)

Ökonomische Ungleichheit

[orig. »On Economic Inequality« (1973)], Übersetzt von Hans G. Nutzinger, Metropolis-Verlag, Marburg 2009, Broschiert, 142 Seiten, ISBN 978-3-7316-1264-3, 19,80 € (Campus-Verlag, Frankfurt/New York 1975)

Die Identitätsfalle. Warum es keinen Krieg der Kulturen gibt

[orig. »Identity and Violence. The Illusion of Destiny« (2006)], Übersetzt von Friedrich Griese, C.H. Beck Verlag, München 2007, Gebunden, 208 Seiten, ISBN 9783406558122, 19,90 € (dtv, München 2010)

Mehr anzeigen

»Collective Choice and Social Welfare. Expanded Edition«

Penguin, London 2017.

The Country of First Boys. And Other Essays

Oxford University Press, Oxford 2015

The Arrow Impossibility Theorem

Edited by Eric S. Maskin and Amartya Sen. Columbia University Press, New York 2014

Peace and Democratic Society

Edited by Amartya Sen, Open Book Publishers, Cambridge, UK 2011

Mismeasuring Our Lives. Why GDP Doesn’t Add Up

With Joseph E. Stiglitz and Jean-Paul, The New Press, New York 2010

Markets, money and capital. Hicksian economics for the twenty-first century

Edited by Amartya Sen, Stefano Zamagni, Roberto, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, UK/New York 2008

The Argumentative Indian. Writings on Indian History, Culture, and Identity

Farrar, Straus and Giroux, New York 2005

Handbook of social choice and welfare

Edited by Amartya Sen, Kōtarō Suzumura, Kenneth J. Arrow, Elsevier, Amsterdam/Boston 2002.

Ökonomie für den Menschen. Wege zu Gerechtigkeit und Solidarität in der Marktwirtschaft

[orig. »Development as Freedom« (1999)], Übersetzt von Christiana Goldmann, Carl Hanser Verlag, München 2000 (dtv, München 2002)

India. Development and Participation

With Jean Drèze, Oxford University Press, Oxford 2002.

Rationality and Freedom

Harvard University Press, Cambridge, MA 2002.

Indian Development. Selected Regional Perspectives

Edited with Jean Drèze, Oxford University Press, Delhi 1997.

India: Economic Development and Social Opportunity

With Jean Drèze. Clarendon Press, Oxford 1995.

The Quality of Life

Edited with Martha Nussbaum, Clarendon Press, Oxford 1993.

Inequality Reexamined

Clarendon Press, Oxford 1992.

The Political Economy of Hunger (in 3 volumes)

Edited with Jean Drèze, Clarendon Press, Oxford 1990 and 1991.

Hunger and Public Action

With Jean Drèze, Clarendon Press, Oxford 1989.

On Ethics and Economics

Basil Blackwell, Oxford and New York 1987.

Der Lebensstandard

[orig. »The Standard of Living« (1987)], Übersetzt von Ilse Utz, Rotbuch Verlag, Hamburg 2000.

Commodities and Capabilities

North-Holland, Amsterdam 1985.

Resources, Values and Development

Basil Blackwell, Oxford 1984.

Choice, Welfare and Measurement

Basil Blackwell, Oxford 1982.

Utilitarianism and Beyond

Edited with Bernard Williams, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge 1982.

Poverty and Famines. An Essay on Entitlement and Deprivation

Clarendon Press, Oxford 198l.

Employment, Technology, and Development

Clarendon Press, Oxford 1975.

On Economic Inequality

Clarendon Press, Oxford 1973.

Guidelines for Project Evaluation

with Partha Dasgupta and Stephen Marglin, UNIDO, United Nations, New York 1972.

Collective Choice and Social Welfare

Holden Day, San Francisco 1970.

Choice of Techniques

Basil Blackwell, Oxford 1960.

Growth Economics

Penguin Books, Harmondsworth 1960.

Suche

Friedenspreis 2020

Amartya Sen

Der Stiftungsrat hat den indischen Wirtschaftswissenschaftler und Philosophen Amartya Sen zum Friedenspreisträger des Jahres 2020 gewählt. Die Verleihung findet am Sonntag, 18. Oktober 2020, in der Frankfurter Paulskirche statt und wird live im Fernsehen übertragen.

Begründung der Jury

Den Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels verleiht der Börsenverein im Jahr 2020 an den Wirtschaftswissenschaftler Amartya Sen. Wir ehren mit ihm einen Philosophen, der sich als Vordenker seit Jahrzehnten mit Fragen der globalen Gerechtigkeit auseinandersetzt und dessen Arbeiten zur Bekämpfung sozialer Ungleichheit in Bezug auf Bildung und Gesundheit heute so relevant sind wie nie zuvor. Gesellschaftlichen Wohlstand nicht allein am Wirtschaftswachstum zu messen, sondern immer auch an den Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten gerade für die Schwächsten, gehört dabei zu seinen wichtigsten Forderungen.

Amartya Sen hebt Solidarität und Verhandlungsbereitschaft als essentielle demokratische Tugenden hervor und beweist, dass Kulturen keine Quelle des Streits um Identitäten sein müssen. In eindringlichen Darstellungen zeigt er, wie Armut, Hunger und Krankheit mit fehlenden freiheitlichen Strukturen zusammenhängen. Mit dem »Human Development Index«, dem »Capabilities Approach« und den »Missing Women« hat er früh Konzepte vorgelegt, die bis heute hohe Maßstäbe für die Ermöglichung, Gewährleistung und Bewertung gleicher Chancen und menschenwürdiger Lebensbedingungen setzen.

Sein inspirierendes Werk ist Aufruf dazu, eine Kultur politischer Entscheidungen zu fördern, die von der Verantwortung für andere getragen ist und niemandem das Recht auf Mitsprache und Selbstbestimmung verwehrt.

Die Freiheit der Wahl gibt uns die Möglichkeit zu entscheiden, was wir tun sollten, aber damit zugleich auch die Verantwortung für das, was wir tun – soweit unsere Handlungen frei gewählt sind. (Amartya Sen, "Die Idee der Gerechtigkeit")

Biographie

Amartya Kumar Sen wurde am 3. November 1933 in Shantiniketan in Indien geboren. Er lehrt als Professor für Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Philosophie an der Harvard University in Cambridge (Massachusetts) und hat die Thomas W. Lamont University Professur inne. Mit seinem vielfältigen wissenschaftlichen Werk leistet er bedeutende Beiträge unter anderem zur Wohlfahrtsökonomie, Sozialwahltheorie, Entscheidungstheorie, zur Analyse von Hunger und Armut sowie zur Entwicklungsökonomie. Zugleich setzt sich der Wirtschaftsphilosoph, zu dessen Forschungsthemen auch Public Health und Gender Studies gehören, unermüdlich für Demokratie, Freiheit und globale Gerechtigkeit ein.1998 wurde er mit dem Nobelpreis für Wirtschaftswissenschaften geehrt. 2020 erhält Amartya Sen, der als einer der wichtigsten Denker unserer Zeit gilt, den Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels.


Amartya Sen stammt aus einem traditionsreichen akademischen Elternhaus und verbrachte einen Teil seiner Kindheit in Dhaka, der heutigen Hauptstadt von Bangladesch. Seine Schulausbildung beendete er in seiner Geburtsstadt Shantiniketan. Geprägt wurde sein Aufwachsen durch die Unabhängigkeitsbewegungen in Indien während der 1940er Jahre und von den Auseinandersetzungen zwischen Hindus und Moslems, die ebenfalls in dieser Zeit stattfanden, sowie von der großen Hungersnot in Bengalen 1943.

Nach einem Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften am Presidency College in Kalkutta, wurde er 1959 am Trinity College in Cambridge/England promoviert und widmete sich gleichzeitig dem Studium der Philosophie, was sich in einer Vielzahl seiner späteren Arbeiten niederschlägt: Problemstellungen der ökonomischen Theorie treffen auf Moralphilosophie und Ethik.

In den 1960er Jahren lehrte Amartya Sen als Gastprofessor am Massachusetts Institute of Technology sowie in Stanford, Berkeley und Harvard. Anschließend war er Professor für Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Delhi School of Economics der Universität von Delhi (1963–1971) und der London School of Economics (1971–1977) sowie Drummond Professor of Political Economy der Universität Oxford (1977–1987) . Von 1988 bis 1998 hatte er die Thomas W. Lamont University Professur an der Harvard University inne, bis er 1998 zum Direktor des Trinity Colleges in Cambridge/England berufen wurde. 2004 kehrte er als Thomas W. Lamont University Professor sowie als Professor für Wirtschaft und Philosophie an die Harvard Universität zurück.

*

Die Frage, wie für das Individuum in einer Gesellschaft soziale Gerechtigkeit gefördert und erreicht werden kann, prägt das Denken des Wirtschaftsphilosophen. Bei der Erforschung dieser Themen bedient er sich der Erkenntnisse der Ökonomie, der Politik und der Sozialwahltheorie.

Einer größeren Öffentlichkeit bekannt wurde Amartya Sen zunächst durch die Weiterentwicklung der Sozialwahltheorie (»social choice theory«) und seine Analysen der Vereinbarkeit von grundlegenden gesellschaftlichen Entscheidungen und individuellen Rechten (»Collective Choice and Social Welfare«, 1970, erweiterte Ausgabe 2017). 1981 erschien sein berühmtestes Werk »Poverty and Famines – An Essay on Entitlement and Deprivation«. Dieser Aufsatz zeigt auf, dass Armut und Hunger nicht allein durch Nahrungsmittelknappheit, sondern vor allem durch Verteilungsprobleme, mangelndem Zugang und ungleiche Anspruchsrechte verursacht werden. Zudem kann Sen belegen, dass Hungersnöte in funktionierenden Demokratien mit freier Presse nicht ausbrechen.

In den 1990er Jahren trug Amartya Sen, der zu den prominenten Beratern des Entwicklungsprogramms der Vereinten Nationen (UNDP) gehört, maßgeblich zur Ausarbeitung des »Human Development Index« bei. Der HDI der UN berücksichtigt als weltweiter Wohlfahrtsindikatoren neben dem Durchschnittseinkommen auch Faktoren wie Gesundheits- und Bildungsstand.

Der Wirtschaftsphilosoph geht davon aus, dass sich die Qualität einer Wirtschaftsordnung weniger am Wachstum bemessen sollte, sondern diese vor allem von den Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten der Menschen abhängt sowie von ihrer Freiheit, ein selbstbestimmtes Leben zu führen (»Capability Approach«). Voraussetzung dafür sind nach Sen unter anderem Bildung, Gesundheitsversorgung und insbesondere freie Medien. In seinem 1999 veröffentlichten Buch »Development as Freedom« (dt. »Ökonomie für den Menschen«, 2000), fordert er zuvorderst die Gleichberechtigung und Chancengleichheit für Frauen. Auf diese Weise könne globale Ungleichheit beseitigt und der allgemeine Lebensstandard verbessert werden.

Ein paar Jahre zuvor, 1990, prägte er mit dem im »New York Review of Books« erschienenen Artikel »More Than 100 Million Women Are Missing« den Forschungsbegriff der »Missing Women«. Der Begriff bezieht sich auf merkliche Defizite bei der Zahl der Frauen in einigen Regionen der Welt im Verhältnis zu dem, was demographisch erwartbar ist. Dieser Mangel geht auf die Vernachlässigung junger Mädchen sowie auf die geschlechtsselektive Abtreibung weiblicher Föten zurück und ist Resultat einer auf patriarchalen Strukturen basierenden »Jungenpräferenz«.

2006 schaltete sich der Philosoph mit seinem Buch »Identity and Violence« (dt. »Die Identitätsfalle«, 2007) in die Debatte um den »Kampf der Kulturen« ein. Er warnt vor der zunehmenden Tendenz, Menschen auf ein einziges Identitätsmerkmal zu reduzieren. Sen beschreibt, wie durch zu eng gefasste Identitätskonstruktionen Gewalt und Fundamentalismus entstehen sowie Konflikte vorangetrieben werden. Dagegen setzt er ein entschiedenes Plädoyer für die aktive Förderung eines pluralistischen Verständnisses.

Zu einem Bestseller wurde sein 2009 erschienenes Buch »The Idea of Justice« (dt. »Die Idee der Gerechtigkeit«, 2010). Sen setzt sich darin mit der Gerechtigkeitstheorie von John Rawls auseinander und kritisiert, dass diese von idealtypischen Grundannahmen ausgeht und sich daher wenig für eine Übertragung auf die Realität eignet. In Abgrenzung dazu versucht Sen, eine praxisorientierte Theorie zu entwickeln und erklärt die Demokratie zu einer Grundvoraussetzung für soziale Gerechtigkeit.

Lösungsvorschläge für ein gerechteres Zusammenleben in Indien legte Sen 2013 gemeinsam mit seinem Kollegen Jean Drèze in dem Buch »An Uncertain Glory. India and its Contradictions« (dt. »Indien, ein Land und seine Widersprüche«, 2014) vor. Bei ihren Analysen stellen die Wissenschaftler das Leben und die Bedürfnisse der armen und unterprivilegierten Bevölkerung ins Zentrum ihrer Überlegungen. Sie legen dar, wie die Einführung des demokratischen Systems die Wirtschaft und das soziale Gefüge Indiens beeinflusste und wie die Vernachlässigung sozialer Probleme wiederum bis heute gravierende Auswirkungen auf das ökonomische und politische System des Landes hat.

*

Amartya Sen war Präsident der Econometric Society, der International Economic Association, der Indian Economic Association sowie der American Economic Association. Zudem stand er zwei Jahre lang der Organisation OXFAM als Ehrenpräsident vor und ist weiterhin für diese als ehrenamtlicher Berater tätig. Er ist Senior Fellow der Harvard Society of Fellows, Fellow der British Academy, Ehrenmitglied der American Academy of Arts and Sciences sowie Mitglied der American Philosophical Society.

Für sein einflussreiches Wirken und seine in über 30 Sprachen übersetzten Bücher erhielt der Wirtschaftsphilosoph zahlreiche Auszeichnungen sowie über 100 Ehrendoktortitel. Er lebt in Cambridge, Massachusetts, und ist seit 1991 mit der britischen Wirtschaftshistorikerin Emma Georgina Rothschild-Sen verheiratet, die als Professorin ebenfalls an der Harvard University lehrt. Amartya Sen hat vier Kinder, Antara, Nandana, Indrani und Kabir.

Meine kindliche Seele war überwältigt von der schockierenden Erkenntnis, daß wirtschaftliche Armut und totale Unfreiheit – das Opfer hatte nicht einmal die Freiheit zu leben – aufs engste zusammenhängen. (Amartya Sen in “Die Identitätsfalle” über seine Kindheitserfahrung während der Zusammenstöße zwischen Hindus und Muslimen im Jahr 1944)

Auszeichnungen

2020 Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels
2019 Bodley Medal, Oxford
2017 Albert O. Hirschman Preis, Institute for Advanced Study
2017 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science, Oslo
2016 Social Progress Medaille, Frankreich
2015 Ehrenmitglied der Japan Academy
2015 John Maynard Keynes Preis, Großbritannien


2014 Domingo Faustino Sarmiento Award, Argentinien
2013 Commandeur de la Legion d'Honneur
2012 Order of the Aztec Eagle, Mexiko
2011 National Humanities Medal, USA
2009 Ehrenmitglied der Royal Irish Academy
2007 Meister-Eckhart-Preis
2007 United Nations Lifetime Achievement Award, ESCAP
2007 Global Economy Prize, Kiel
2005 Barnard College Medal of Distinction, U.S.A.
2005 Silver Banner, Florenz, Italen
2004 Lifetime Achievement Award der indischen Handelskammer
2001 Bruno-Kreisky-Preis für das politische Buch
2000 Brazilian Ordemdo Merito Cientifico, Grã-Cruz
2000 Leontief-Preis, USA
2000 Eisenhower Medal, USA 
2000 Honorary Companion of Honour, Großbritannien
1999 Ehrenbürger von Bangladesch
1999 Bharat Ratna, Indien
1998 Alfred-Nobel-Gedächtnispreis für Wirtschaftswissenschaften
1997 Edinburgh Medal
1997 Catalonia International Prize
1993 Jean Mayer Global Citizenship Award
1990 Giovanni Agnelli International Prize in Ethics, Italien
1990 Alan Shawn Feinstein World Hunger Award
1981 Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Nichts ist in der politischen Ökonomie der Entwicklung heute wichtiger als eine adäquate Würdigung der politischen, ökonomischen und gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe und Führungsrolle der Frau. (Amartya Sen in "Ökonomie für den Menschen")

Bibliographie

Gleichheit? Welche Gleichheit?

[orig. »Equality of What?« (1979)], Übersetzt und herausgegeben von Ute Kruse-Ebeling, Deutsche Erstausgabe, Reclam Verlag, Stuttgart 2019, Kartoniert, 72 Seiten, ISBN 9783150196144, 6,00 €

Indien. Ein Land und seine Widersprüche

[orig. »An Uncertain Glory. India and its Contradictions« (2013)], von Amartya Sen und Jean Dreze, übersetzt von Thomas Atzert und Andreas Wirthensohn, C.H. Beck Verlag, München 2014, Gebunden, 376 Seiten, ISBN 9783406670299, 29,95 €

Die Idee der Gerechtigkeit

[orig. »The Idea of Justice« (2009)], Übersetzt von Christa Krüger, C.H. Beck Verlag, München 2010, Gebunden, 493 Seiten, ISBN 9783406606533, 29,95 € (dtv, München 2017, 14,90 €)

Ökonomische Ungleichheit

[orig. »On Economic Inequality« (1973)], Übersetzt von Hans G. Nutzinger, Metropolis-Verlag, Marburg 2009, Broschiert, 142 Seiten, ISBN 978-3-7316-1264-3, 19,80 € (Campus-Verlag, Frankfurt/New York 1975)

Die Identitätsfalle. Warum es keinen Krieg der Kulturen gibt

[orig. »Identity and Violence. The Illusion of Destiny« (2006)], Übersetzt von Friedrich Griese, C.H. Beck Verlag, München 2007, Gebunden, 208 Seiten, ISBN 9783406558122, 19,90 € (dtv, München 2010)

Mehr anzeigen

»Collective Choice and Social Welfare. Expanded Edition«

Penguin, London 2017.

The Country of First Boys. And Other Essays

Oxford University Press, Oxford 2015

The Arrow Impossibility Theorem

Edited by Eric S. Maskin and Amartya Sen. Columbia University Press, New York 2014

Peace and Democratic Society

Edited by Amartya Sen, Open Book Publishers, Cambridge, UK 2011

Mismeasuring Our Lives. Why GDP Doesn’t Add Up

With Joseph E. Stiglitz and Jean-Paul, The New Press, New York 2010

Markets, money and capital. Hicksian economics for the twenty-first century

Edited by Amartya Sen, Stefano Zamagni, Roberto, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, UK/New York 2008

The Argumentative Indian. Writings on Indian History, Culture, and Identity

Farrar, Straus and Giroux, New York 2005

Handbook of social choice and welfare

Edited by Amartya Sen, Kōtarō Suzumura, Kenneth J. Arrow, Elsevier, Amsterdam/Boston 2002.

Ökonomie für den Menschen. Wege zu Gerechtigkeit und Solidarität in der Marktwirtschaft

[orig. »Development as Freedom« (1999)], Übersetzt von Christiana Goldmann, Carl Hanser Verlag, München 2000 (dtv, München 2002)

India. Development and Participation

With Jean Drèze, Oxford University Press, Oxford 2002.

Rationality and Freedom

Harvard University Press, Cambridge, MA 2002.

Indian Development. Selected Regional Perspectives

Edited with Jean Drèze, Oxford University Press, Delhi 1997.

India: Economic Development and Social Opportunity

With Jean Drèze. Clarendon Press, Oxford 1995.

The Quality of Life

Edited with Martha Nussbaum, Clarendon Press, Oxford 1993.

Inequality Reexamined

Clarendon Press, Oxford 1992.

The Political Economy of Hunger (in 3 volumes)

Edited with Jean Drèze, Clarendon Press, Oxford 1990 and 1991.

Hunger and Public Action

With Jean Drèze, Clarendon Press, Oxford 1989.

On Ethics and Economics

Basil Blackwell, Oxford and New York 1987.

Der Lebensstandard

[orig. »The Standard of Living« (1987)], Übersetzt von Ilse Utz, Rotbuch Verlag, Hamburg 2000.

Commodities and Capabilities

North-Holland, Amsterdam 1985.

Resources, Values and Development

Basil Blackwell, Oxford 1984.

Choice, Welfare and Measurement

Basil Blackwell, Oxford 1982.

Utilitarianism and Beyond

Edited with Bernard Williams, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge 1982.

Poverty and Famines. An Essay on Entitlement and Deprivation

Clarendon Press, Oxford 198l.

Employment, Technology, and Development

Clarendon Press, Oxford 1975.

On Economic Inequality

Clarendon Press, Oxford 1973.

Guidelines for Project Evaluation

with Partha Dasgupta and Stephen Marglin, UNIDO, United Nations, New York 1972.

Collective Choice and Social Welfare

Holden Day, San Francisco 1970.

Choice of Techniques

Basil Blackwell, Oxford 1960.

Growth Economics

Penguin Books, Harmondsworth 1960.