Prize winners

Since 1950, the winners of the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade have been honoured for their contributions to peace, humanity and understanding between peoples.

Current award winner


Amartya Sen

Laudation: Frank-Walter Steinmeier

The Board of Trustees has chosen the Indian economist and philosopher Amartya Sen as the Peace Prize winner of the Year 2020. The award ceremony took place on Sunday, October 18, 2020, in Frankfurt's Paulskirche. and will be broadcast live on television. The laudatory speech by President Frank-Walter Steinmeier was read by actor Burghart Klaußner.

Show more


Please visit the German sites.