Peace Prize 2018 / Aleida and Jan Assmann

Laudatory speech: Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht

Peace Prize 2017 / Margaret Atwood

Laudatory speech: Eva Menasse

Peace Prize 2016 / Carolin Emcke

Laudatory speech: Seyla Benhabib

Peace Prize 2015 / Navid Kermani

Laudatory speech: Norbert Miller

Peace Prize 2014 / Jaron Lanier

Laudatory speech: Martin Schulz

Peace Prize 2013 / Svetlana Alexievich

Laudatory speech: Karl Schlögel

All News



Aleida and Jan Assmann to Receive the 2018 Peace Prize of the German Book Trade

The Board of Trustees of the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade has chosen the German professor of Literature and Cultural Studies Aleida Assmann and the German Egyptologist and scholar of Cultural Studies Jan Assmann to be the recipients of this year’s Peace Prize. The announcement was made today by Heinrich Riethmüller, Chairman of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association (Börsenverein), at the opening of the 2018 Berlin Book Days. The award ceremony will take place on the final day of the Frankfurt Book Fair, Sunday 14 October 2018, at the Church of St. Paul in Frankfurt am Main. The ceremony will be broadcast live on German public television. The Peace Prize has been awarded since 1950 and is endowed with a sum of €25,000.